2017 Winner




Chris Morash (Non Voting Chair)

Chris Morash (Non Voting Chair)

Chris Morash is the Seamus Heaney Professor of Irish Writing in Trinity College Dublin.  His most recent book, Dublin: A Writer’s City was published in 2023. He is currently editing the Cambridge History of the Irish Novel and writing a new book about Irish literary salons.  He was the 2022 Macgeorge Fellow at the University of Melbourne, and curated the Unseen Plays series for the Abbey Theatre (2021).

Ellah Allfrey

Ellah Allfrey

Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, OBE is an independent critic, broadcaster and editor and is currently Visiting Professor at Goshen College, Indiana. She is the editor of Safe House: Explorations in Creative Non-fiction (Cassava Republic, 2016) and Africa39: New Writing from Africa South of the Sahara (Bloomsbury, 2014). The former Deputy Editor of Granta magazine, she sits on the boards of Art for Amnesty, the Caine Prize for African Writing and the Writers’ Centre Norwich. She is patron of the Etisalat Prize for Literature and served as a judge for the 2015 Man Booker Prize. Her journalism has appeared in the Independent, the Guardian, the Telegraph, the Spectator and the Observer and she has been a regular contributor to the book pages of NPR in the USA.  Photo Credit: Charlie Hopkinson

Jaume Subirana

Jaume Subirana

Jaume Subirana was born and lives in Barcelona. He is a writer, critic and translator who has published both prose and poetry (he has won the most prestigious Catalan awards: Carles Riba in 1988 and recently the Gabriel Ferrater), and has also written and edited books on Barcelona and Catalan culture. He served as director of the Institució de les Lletres Catalanes, and is a member of PEN Català. Associate Professor at the Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, he has been Visiting Professor at UBC, Brown University and Ca’ Foscari-Venezia. He regularly updates his blog FluxPhoto Credit: Victor P. deObanos

Kapka Kassabova

Kapka Kassabova

Kapka Kassabova is a poet, novelist, and writer of travel and history. Her travel memoirs are Street Without a Name (2008) and Twelve Minutes of Love, a tango story (2011). Born and raised in Bulgaria, she moved with her family to New Zealand in the early 1990s, where she published her first fiction and poetry. She now lives in the Highlands of Scotland. She has written for The Guardian, Vogue, and 1843 magazine. Her latest book is Border: a journey to the edge of Europe (2017). Photo Credit: Marti Friedlander.

Katy Derbyshire

Katy Derbyshire

Katy Derbyshire was born in London and has lived in Berlin for the past twenty years. She translates contemporary German writers, including previously Dublin Literary Award longlisted Simon Urban and Helene Hegemann along with Inka Parei, Clemens Meyer, Jan Brandt, Felicitas Hoppe and many others. She writes occasional criticism and essays in English and German, published by Lithub, The Quarterly Conversation, Music & Literature, New Books in German and Der Tagesspiegel. Katy co-hosts a monthly literary translation lab in Berlin and has taught translation in London, Leipzig, New York, New Delhi and Norwich. Photo Credit: Anja Pietsch


Since first opening our doors in 1873, we’ve served all Chicagoans with free and open places to gather, learn, connect, read and be transformed.
Cork City Libraries is a service of Cork City Council. Cork City Libraries provides a range of library and information services to the people of..
“The New York Public Library has provided essential access to books and information for more than a century. Today, we are building on that legacy..
Did you know that the library is always open? It is if you visit the library online via a computer, mobile phone or tablet PC…
The Central Public Library of Veria provides services for education, information and entertainment which contribute to the improvement of the quality of living. We develop..
The Marshal Józef Piłsudski Provincial Public Library is an institution with a pedigree dating back to 1917.


Auckland LibrariesBiblioteca Municipal de Oeiras / Municipal Libraries OeirasBiblioteca Nazionale Centrale di RomaBibliothèque et Archives Nationales du QuébecBibliothèques Municipales GenèveCalgary Public LibraryCape Breton Regional LibraryCarnegie Library of PittsburghChicago Public LibraryChristchurch City Libraries Ngā Kete Wānanga o ŌtautahiCleveland Public LibraryCork City LibrariesDe Bibliotheek UtrechtDunedin Public LibrariesFree Library of PhiladelphiaGalway Public LibrariesHartford Public LibraryHelsinki City LibraryHouston Public LibraryIndia International Centre LibraryJamaica Library ServiceKatona József Library of Bács-Kiskun CountyLeipziger Städtische BibliothekenLincoln LibraryLiverpool City LibrariesLos Angeles Public LibraryMestna knjižnica Ljubljana/Ljubljana City LibraryMultnomah County LibraryMunicipal Library of PragueMuntpunt – Hoofdstedelijke Openbare BibliotheekNew Hampshire State LibraryNew York Public LibraryNewfoundland & Labrador Public LibrariesOklahoma Department of LibrariesOttawa Public LibraryPikes Peak Library DistrictPublic Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton CountyRedbridge LibrariesRegionální knihovna Karviná (Regional Library of Karviná)Reykjavík City LibraryRichland LibraryRudomino All-Russia State Library for Foreign LiteratureSaint John Free Public LibrarySeattle Public LibraryStadtbibliothek BremenStadtbüchereien DüsseldorfState Library of New South WalesState Library of QueenslandState Library of South AustraliaStockholm Public LibraryTampere City LibraryTartu Public Library/Tartu LinnaraamatukoguThe National Library of AustraliaThe National Library of Estonia, TallinnThe National Library of MalaysiaThe State Library of VictoriaThe State Library of Western AustraliaTimaru District LibrariesToronto Public LibraryUniversitäts-und Landesbibliothek BonnUniversitätsbibliothek BernVeria Central Public LibraryWellington Public LibraryWinnipeg Public LibraryWojewódzka Biblioteka Publiczna im. Marszałka Józefa Piłsudskiego w Łodzi (Jozef Pilsudski Regional and Municipal Public Library in Lodz)Национална библиотека (Saint Cyril and Methodius National Library of Bulgaria)


Audio June 11 2024

All About Books: Katy Conneely, Dublin City FM on the 2024 Dublin Literary Award Ceremony

In her 'All About Books' podcast Katy Conneely attends the Winning Ceremony of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award on 23rd May 2024 and provides some highlights of the ceremony
Video June 5 2024

2024 Dublin Literary Award Winners Mircea Cărtărescu and Sean Cotter In Conversation

Mircea Cărtărescu and Sean Cotter, winners of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award take an in-depth look at the winning title, Solenoid with Alex Clarke as part of International Literature Festival Dublin.
Video May 31 2024

Dublin Literary Award 2024 Winner Announcements Highlights

Romanian author Mircea Cărtărescu and translator Sean Cotter have been announced as winners of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award on Thursday 23rd of May, for the novel Solenoid.
Video May 8 2024

Alexis Wright – Praiseworthy Q&A

Q&A with Alexis Wright, one of the six shortlisted authors for the 2024 Dublin Literary Award in which she discusses her passion for libraries and explores the influences behind her novel Praiseworthy


Stay in touch and sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest news and updates on the Dublin Literary Award.