National and University Library of Macedonia


The rich library tradition on the soil of the Republic of North Macedonia, whose roots stretch back to the deeds of pan-Slavonic educators St. Cyril (826–869) and St. Methodius (820–885) is the same foundations on which the library began to build and develop its activity. Its patron, Saint Clement of Ohrid (840–916) established the first monastic library in Ohrid, in the Monastery of St. Panteleimon, and he is considered to be the founder of the librarianship in these parts. Numerous medieval monastic libraries in Macedonia, part of whose collections are in the library today, continued the library tradition on the territory of Macedonia.

The initial collection of the National and University Library “St. Kliment Ohridski ” amounts 150,000 library units, mostly university textbooks and scientific publications in the field of humanities and social sciences: literature, ethnology, geography, history, etc., and also, significant titles from the reference literature (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies) and approximately 300 titles periodicals. In 1945, with the Decision of ASNOM, the NUL began to receive a copy of all items published in Macedonia and also in the former Yugoslavia. In this way it became the deposit library of the former People’s Republic of Macedonia and one of the eight Yugoslav depository libraries. Since 1991, after the independence of the Republic of North Macedonia, the library has become a depository for the publishing production of North Macedonia.




Audio June 11 2024

All About Books: Katy Conneely, Dublin City FM on the 2024 Dublin Literary Award Ceremony

In her 'All About Books' podcast Katy Conneely attends the Winning Ceremony of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award on 23rd May 2024 and provides some highlights of the ceremony
Video June 5 2024

2024 Dublin Literary Award Winners Mircea Cărtărescu and Sean Cotter In Conversation

Mircea Cărtărescu and Sean Cotter, winners of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award take an in-depth look at the winning title, Solenoid with Alex Clarke as part of International Literature Festival Dublin.
Video May 31 2024

Dublin Literary Award 2024 Winner Announcements Highlights

Romanian author Mircea Cărtărescu and translator Sean Cotter have been announced as winners of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award on Thursday 23rd of May, for the novel Solenoid.
Video May 8 2024

Alexis Wright – Praiseworthy Q&A

Q&A with Alexis Wright, one of the six shortlisted authors for the 2024 Dublin Literary Award in which she discusses her passion for libraries and explores the influences behind her novel Praiseworthy


Stay in touch and sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest news and updates on the Dublin Literary Award.