theorphansofamsterdam
2024 Longlist

The Orphans of Amsterdam

Translated from the original Dutch by Jai van Essen
artwork-image

ABOUT
THE BOOK

Amsterdam, 1941. My hands are so shaky I’m fumbling. Where to hide? I pull open the dresser, throw aside the blankets, put the baby in and push the drawer shut, just as the nursery door swings open. The German officer marches into the room, yelling over the crying downstairs: ‘You! Grab all the children – now!’ Based on the heart-wrenching true story of an ordinary young woman who risked everything to save countless children from the Nazis, this gripping read is perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones and The Nightingale.

ABOUT
THE AUTHOR Elle
Van Rijn

Elle van Rijn is a Dutch actress, screenwriter of series and films, and author of columns, although her greatest passion lies with writing novels.

Photo Credit: Yvette Kulkens

Elle van Rijn is a Dutch actress, screenwriter of series and films, and author of columns, although her greatest passion lies with writing novels.

Photo Credit: Yvette Kulkens

ABOUT
THE TRANSLATOR Jai
van Essen

Jai van Essen is a sworn Dutch-English and English-Dutch translator. He studied English Language and Literature at the University of Amsterdam, and in 2015 he completed the Legal Translation in Criminal Cases program at the SIGV Association of Court Interpreters and Translators. This same year, he was sworn in by the Court of Amsterdam and added to the Dutch Register of Sworn Translators, and has been working as a freelance translator ever since.

Jai van Essen is a sworn Dutch-English and English-Dutch translator. He studied English Language and Literature at the University of Amsterdam, and in 2015 he completed the Legal Translation in Criminal Cases program at the SIGV Association of Court Interpreters and Translators. This same year, he was sworn in by the Court of Amsterdam and added to the Dutch Register of Sworn Translators, and has been working as a freelance translator ever since.

NOMINATING LIBRARY COMMENTS

Based on a true story the author tells the story of Betty – a young woman – who rescues 600 orphans from certain deportation in World War II. Characters are lively and well-developed, The story is well-written. What bravery can do….A beautiful historical novel Interesting to read about Jewish life in those troublesome times.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Date published
05/07/2022
Country
Netherlands
Original Language
Dutch
Author
Publisher
Bookouture
Translator
Jai van Essen
Translation
Translated from the original Dutch by Jai van Essen
Borrow this book from Libraries Ireland

RELATED FEATURES

News January 16 2024

2024 Dublin Literary Award Longlist Revealed

With books nominated by 80 libraries from 35 countries, 4 novels by Irish authors are in the running for the €100,000 prize sponsored by Dublin City Council
News November 28 2023

2024 Dublin Literary Award Judges Announced

Meet our judging panel for 2024 Dublin Literary Award
Video June 2 2023

Highlights from the 2023 Dublin Literary Award Ceremony

Katja Oskamp and translator Jo Heinrich win the prize for Marzahn, Mon Amour.
Video May 26 2023

2023 Award Winners in Conversation with Rick O’Shea

Author, Katja Oskamp and translator, Jo Heinrich in conversation.

STAY CONNECTED

Stay in touch and sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest news and updates on the Dublin Literary Award.