Batalha
2019 Longlist

The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao

Translated from Portuguese by Eric M. B. Becker
artwork-image

ABOUT
THE BOOK

Euridice is bright and ambitious. But this is Brazil in the 1940s, and society expects her to be a loving wife and mother. While Antenor is busy congratulating himself on his excellent catch, Euridice spends her spends her humdrum days ironing his shirts and removing the lumps of onion from his food, dreaming of the success she could have made of herself – as a writer, dressmaker or culinary whizz – in another life.

Her free-spirited sister Guida, on the other hand, is the kind of person who was ‘born knowing everything’. When she returns from her failed elopement with stories of heartbreak and loss, the lives of Euridice and her husband are thrown into confusion, with disastrous consequences.

The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao is a darkly comic debut, bursting with vibrant Brazilian spirit and unforgettable characters – a jubilant novel about the emancipation of women, perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Today Will Be Different and Elizabeth Strout’s My Name Is Lucy Barton.

 

 

ABOUT
THE AUTHOR Martha
Batalha

Martha Batalha studied journalism and literature in Brazil, working first as a reporter before starting her own publishing company. The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao is her first novel. Martha lives in Santa Monica, California, with her husband and two children.

Martha Batalha studied journalism and literature in Brazil, working first as a reporter before starting her own publishing company. The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao is her first novel. Martha lives in Santa Monica, California, with her husband and two children.

ABOUT
THE TRANSLATOR Eric
M. B. Becker

Eric M. B. Becker is an American writer, editor, and translator of literary works from Portuguese language. Becker currently serves as Digital Director & Senior Editor of the literary journal Words without Borders.

Eric M. B. Becker is an American writer, editor, and translator of literary works from Portuguese language. Becker currently serves as Digital Director & Senior Editor of the literary journal Words without Borders.

NOMINATING LIBRARY COMMENTS

A surprising narrative for a first book. Batalha offers us a poignant panorama of a 50s – 60s Rio de Janeiro where her characters touch us in a witty prose that compels us not to leave the book until the very ending. Remarkable accomplishment for an author’s debut. No wonder it had been translated in a few languages and also it has been sold to be a movie.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Date published
01/01/2016
Original Language
Portuguese
Publisher
Oneworld Publications
Translator
Eric M. B. Becker
Translation
Translated from Portuguese by Eric M. B. Becker

RELATED FEATURES

News January 16 2024

2024 Dublin Literary Award Longlist Revealed

With books nominated by 80 libraries from 35 countries, 4 novels by Irish authors are in the running for the €100,000 prize sponsored by Dublin City Council
News November 28 2023

2024 Dublin Literary Award Judges Announced

Meet our judging panel for 2024 Dublin Literary Award
Video June 2 2023

Highlights from the 2023 Dublin Literary Award Ceremony

Katja Oskamp and translator Jo Heinrich win the prize for Marzahn, Mon Amour.
Video May 26 2023

2023 Award Winners in Conversation with Rick O’Shea

Author, Katja Oskamp and translator, Jo Heinrich in conversation.

STAY CONNECTED

Stay in touch and sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest news and updates on the Dublin Literary Award.