Green-M
2014 Longlist

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

artwork-image

ABOUT
THE BOOK

For readers who loved Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time: a heartwarming, heartbreaking story of love, loyalty and the power of the imagination – a novel perfect for anyone who ever had a friend . . . real or otherwise. Goodreads finalist 2012 as voted by over 1 million readers.
My name is Budo.
I have been alive for 5 years.
5 years is a very long time for someone like me to be alive.
Max gave me my name. Max is 8 years old.
He is the only human person who can see me.
I know what Max knows, and some things he doesn’t.
I know that Max is in danger.
And I know that I am the only one who can save him.

 

 

ABOUT
THE AUTHOR Matthew
Green

Matthew Green is a schoolteacher with Teacher of the Year credentials to his name. He has one Master’s degree and is working on a second. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and daughter, plus a dog and cat.

Matthew Green is a schoolteacher with Teacher of the Year credentials to his name. He has one Master’s degree and is working on a second. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and daughter, plus a dog and cat.

We're sorry, but we couldn't find any translators matching your search. Please try using different keywords or check back later as we regularly update our collection.

NOMINATING LIBRARY COMMENTS

A touching, soul-searching insight into the worlds of imaginary friend Budo and his human creator Max. This cleverly imagined novel explores the power and challenges of unconditional friendship, loyalty and existence, capturing the reader with elements of both whimsy and deep insight throughout.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Date published
07/05/2013
Country
United States
Original Language
English
Author
Publisher
Sphere

RELATED FEATURES

News January 16 2024

2024 Dublin Literary Award Longlist Revealed

With books nominated by 80 libraries from 35 countries, 4 novels by Irish authors are in the running for the €100,000 prize sponsored by Dublin City Council
News November 28 2023

2024 Dublin Literary Award Judges Announced

Meet our judging panel for 2024 Dublin Literary Award
Video June 2 2023

Highlights from the 2023 Dublin Literary Award Ceremony

Katja Oskamp and translator Jo Heinrich win the prize for Marzahn, Mon Amour.
Video May 26 2023

2023 Award Winners in Conversation with Rick O’Shea

Author, Katja Oskamp and translator, Jo Heinrich in conversation.

STAY CONNECTED

Stay in touch and sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest news and updates on the Dublin Literary Award.