35 American novels on the 2018 longlist!

2018 International DUBLIN Literary Award announced@dublinlitaward #DUBLITAWARD

35 American novels are among 150 titles that have been nominated by libraries worldwide for the €100,000 International DUBLIN Literary Award, the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English. Nominations include 48 novels in translation with works by authors from 40 countries in Africa, Europe, Asia, the USA & Canada, South America and Australia & New Zealand.

Organised by Dublin City Council, the 2018 Award was launched today [6th November] by Lord Mayor/Ardmhéara Mícheál MacDonncha, Patron of the Award, who commended the Award for its promotion of excellence in world literature as well as for the opportunity to promote Irish writing internationally. Dublin – a UNESCO City of Literature – is renowned throughout the world as a City of writers. There’s no doubt that our rich literary and cultural life makes Dublin a great destination for tourists, for students, and for overseas businesses. It also makes for a better quality of life for all of us who live and work in our capital. “Is cathair litríochta í Baile Átha Cliath” he said.

There have been three American winners of the Award to date. Edward P. Jones was awarded the prize in 2005 for his novel The Known World, Michael Thomas in 2009 for Man Gone Down and in June 2016, Akhil Sharma received the prize for Family Life.

Library systems in 24 cities throughout the USA were among the libraries in 37 countries worldwide that nominated books for the 2018 longlist.

The American titles include:

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, winner of the Pulitzer Prize

My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Heroes of the Frontier by Dave Eggers

The 2018 Judging Panel is chaired by US Judge Eugene R. Sullivan and includes Vona Groarke, Irish poet and Senior Lecturer at the University of Manchester; Xiaolu Guo, Chinese British novelist, essayist and filmaker; Nicky Harman, translator and co-Chair of the Translators Association; Courttia Newland, novelist and associate lecturer in creative writing at the University of Westminster and Mpalive Msiska, author and Reader in English and Humanities at Birkbeck, University of London.The International DUBLIN Literary Award is managed by Dublin City Council’s library service. Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, announced that the 150 books eligible for the 2018 award were nominated by libraries in 111 cities and 37 countries worldwide; noting that 48 are titles in translation, spanning 18 languages and 25 are first novels.

Speaking of the global interest in the Award, the City Librarian remarked “This great prize affirms Dublin’s commitment to international writers and translators, to literature and creativity. Through this award Dublin, a UNESCO City of Literature, brings the worldwide community of readers together to read the works of contemporary writers, writers who take their inspiration from themes local and universal, in settings real and imagined.”The complete list of US titles:

Enchanted Islands –  Allison Amend
The Other Einstein  –  Marie Benedict
The Mothers –  Brit Bennett
The Terranauts – T. C. Boyle
All Things Cease to Appear –  Elizabeth Brundage
Moonglow- Michael Chabon
The Girls – Emma Cline
Heroes of the Frontier – Dave Eggers
LaRose – Louise Erdrich
I Am No One-Patrick Flanery
Here I Am – Jonathan Safran Foer
The Regional Office is Under Attack! -Manuel Gonzales
What Belongs to You-Garth Greenwell
Homegoing – Yaa Gyasi
The Nix – Nathan Hill
Faithful – Alice Hoffman
To the Bright Edge of the World- Eowyn Ivey
News of the World -Paulette Jiles
Lilac Girls-Martha Hall Kelly
Mischling – Affinity Konar
The Association of Small Bombs – Karan Mahajan
I Will Send Rain – Rae Maedows
Version Control – Dexter Palmer
Commonwealth -Ann Patchett
Black Deutschland- Darryl Pinckney
Barkskins -Annie Proulx
Scythe – Neal Schusterman
The Black Widow – Daniel Silva
The Invisible life of Ivan Isaenko – Scott Stambach
My Name is Lucy Barton -Elizabeth Strout
A Gentleman in Moscow – Amor Towles
Miss Jane – Brad Watson
The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead
Another Brooklyn -Jacqueline Woodson
The Lost Time Accidents -John Wray

Other novels nominated for the 2018 Award include Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien, winner of the 2016 Governor General’s Award for Fiction and An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire, finalist for the 2017 Miles Franklin Award.

Among the 48 translated books are novels originally published in Croatian, Czech, Finnish, Hebrew, Icelandic, Korean, Norwegian, Serbian and Slovene. Translated authors include Han Kang, Roy Jacobsen, Herman Koch, Robert Seethaler, Amos Oz and previous winners Javier Marías and Juan Gabriel Vásquez. For the first year, translated titles comprise almost exactly one third of the longlist – 32%!

The book that received most nominations this year is Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad, chosen by 15 libraries in Belgium, Estonia, Greece, Sweden and the USA.

Nominating libraries in the USA are in Cheyenne, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Colorado Springs, Concord, Denver, Hartford, Houston, Iowa City, Jacksonville, Los Angeles, Miami, Milwaukee, Oklahoma City, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, San Diego, Seattle, Springfield, Stamford and Tallahassee.

The full list of 150 titles is available on

The shortlist will be published in April 2018 and the Lord Mayor will announce the winner on 13th June 2018.

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is a Dublin City Council initiative.
For further information: Dublin City Council Media Relations, 01 222 2106