3 African authors on the 2017 shortlist



Tuesday 11th April 2017: 10 novels have been shortlisted for the 2017 International DUBLIN Literary Award, proudly sponsored by Dublin City Council and managed by Dublin City Libraries. The list includes novels by African authors, José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola), Mia Couto (Mozambique) and Chinelo Okparanta (Nigerian/American).

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is worth €100,000 to the winner and is the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English. The award was launched on 7th April 1995 and is now in its 22nd year.

The shortlisted titles are:

1. A General Theory of Oblivion by José Eduardo Agualusa (Angolan) Translated from the Portuguese by Daniel Hahn. Published by Harvill Secker & Archipelago Books.

2. Confession of the Lioness by Mia Couto (Mozambican) Translated from the Portuguese by David Brookshaw. Published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux & Harvill Secker.

3. The Green Road by Anne Enright (Irish ) Published by Jonathan Cape & W.W. Norton.

4. The Prophets of Eternal Fjord by Kim Leine (Danish/Norwegian) Translated from the Danish by Martin Aitken. Published by Atlantic Books & W.W. Norton.

5. The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli (Mexican) Translated from the Spanish by Christina MacSweeney. Published by Coffee House Press & Granta Books.

6. The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Vietnamese/American) First novel. Published by Grove/Atlantic & Corsair.

7. Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta (Nigerian-American) Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt & Granta Books.

8. A Strangeness in My Mind by Orhan Pamuk (Turkish) Translated from the Turkish by Ekin Oklap. Published by Faber & Faber.

9. A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler (Austrian) Translated from the German by Charlotte Collins. Published by Picador.

10. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (American) Published by Doubleday & Picador

There were 7 African titles on the 2017 longlist:

A General Theory of Oblivion by José Eduardo Agualusa, (Angola) translated from the Portuguese by Daniel Hahn; The Automobile Club of Egypt by Alaa al Aswany, (Egypt) translated from the Arabic by Russell Harris; Confession of the Lioness by Mia Couto, (Mozambique) translated from the Portuguese by David Brookshaw; The Meursault Investigation by Kamel Daoud, (Algeria) translated from the French by John Cullen; The African Equation by Yasmina Khadra, (Algeria) translated from the French by Howard Curtis and The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria) and Under The Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta (Nigerian/American).

The award was won by Moroccan author, Tahar Ben Jelloun in 2004 for his novel This Blinding Absence of Light. A number of African writers have also been shortlisted over the years, Yasmina Khadra (Algeria), Mahi Binebine (Morocco), Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Chris Abani (Nigeria), Scholastique Mukasonga (Rwanda), J.M. Coetzee, Achmat Dangor and André Brink (South Africa).

‘The titles on this year’s shortlist were nominated by public libraries in Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Scotland, Sweden and the USA’, said Dublin’s Lord Mayor, Brendan Carr, Patron of the Award. ‘This is the beauty of this award; it reaches out to readers and authors worldwide, while also celebrating excellence in contemporary Irish literature represented on the 2017 shortlist by our laureate for Irish Fiction, Anne Enright.’

‘The 2017 winner will be chosen from this intriguing international shortlist which includes six novels in translation from Danish, German, Portuguese, Spanish and Turkish. The novels come from Angola, Austria, Denmark/Norway, Ireland, Mexico, Mozambique, Nigeria, Turkey, Vietnam and the USA’, said Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian. ‘Issues of conflict and communication are set against a myriad of cultural and family settings and in contemporary and historic time periods. For readers, these stories add new and absorbing characters to our circle of international literary acquaintances.’

The five member international judging panel, which includes Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, will select one winner which will be announced by Lord Mayor, Brendan Carr, Patron of the Award, on Wednesday 21st June.