23 British novels on the 2017 longlist

2017 International DUBLIN Literary Award announced


23 British novels are among 147 titles that have been nominated by libraries worldwide for the €100,000 International DUBLIN Literary Award, the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English. Nominations include 43 novels in translation with works by 42 American, 15 Canadian, 10 Australian, 7 Irish, 6 New Zealander and 4 Dutch authors.

Organised by Dublin City Council, the 2017 Award was launched today [21st November] by Lord Mayor, Brendan Carr, Patron of the Award, who praised the International DUBLIN Literary Award for its promotion of excellence in world literature as well as for the opportunity to promote Irish writing internationally. “Like every year”, he said, “readers will find new books and new authors through the Award, and they can pit themselves against the international panel of judges and pick their own favourite novel, before I announce the winner on 21st June next year.”

There have been four British winners of the award to date. Andrew Miller was awarded the prize in 1999 for his novel Ingenious Pain, Nicola Barker in 2000 for Wide Open, Jon McGregor in 2012 for Even the Dogs and Jim Crace in 2015 for Harvest. Libraries in Edinburgh, Liverpool, London and Newcastle were among the libraries in 40 countries worldwide who nominated books for the 2017 award.

The British titles include:

A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Illuminations by Andrew O’Hagan
The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro


The 2017 Judging Panel includes Ellah Allfrey, OBE, critic, broadcaster and editor and Katy Derbyshire, British translator, critic and essayist. They are joined by Chris Morash, Seamus Heaney Prof of Irish Writing and Vice Provost of Trinity College Dublin; Kapka Kassabova, poet, novelist and writer and Jaume Subirana, writer, critic and translator. The non-voting Chairperson is Eugene R. Sullivan.

The International DUBLIN Literary Award (formerly known as the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award) is managed by Dublin City Council’s library service. Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, announced that the 147 books eligible for the 2017 award were nominated by libraries in 109 cities and 40 countries worldwide; noting that 43 are titles in translation, spanning 19 languages and 30 are first novels.

Speaking of the global interest in the Award, the City Librarian remarked “This great prize demonstrates Dublin’s international support for contemporary writers and gives tangible expression to Dublin as A City of Words, an active member of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network, a UNESCO City of Literature. It also brings readers together in an unparalleled international book club connected through their local public libraries”.


Other novels nominated for the 2017 Award include The Sellout by Paul Beatty, winner of the 2016 Man Booker Prize; The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen, winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, Hope Farm by Peggy Frew, Salt Creek by Lucy Treleor and The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood, finalists for the 2016 Miles Franklin Award.

Among the 43 translated books are novels originally published in Arabic, Bulgarian, Icelandic, Kannada, Macedonian, Montenegrin, Slovene and Turkish. Translated authors include Milan Kundera, Mia Couto and Isabel Allende. As in previous years, translated titles comprise almost one third of the longlist – 29%.

The book that received most nominations this year is Kate Atkinson’s A God in Ruins, chosen by 9 libraries in Australia, Canada, England, Greece, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland and Spain.

The shortlist will be published on 11th April 2017 and the Lord Mayor will announce the winner on 21st June.

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is a Dublin City Council initiative.
For further information: Dublin City Council Media Relations, 01 222 2106

Notes for Editors:

The award promotes Dublin internationally as a literary destination, as Juan Pablo Villalobos (2016 judging panel) remarked “Dublin is a very literary city and for me as a Mexican writer I was very, very happy to be invited to be a judge because it’s the city of Samuel Beckett, one of my literary heroes, and of James Joyce of course. Obviously world wide Dublin is known as a literary city and I think that this prize is becoming every year more and more important.”

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English. Nominations are made by library systems in major cities throughout the world. Established in 1994 in partnership with the company IMPAC, the Award is now wholly funded by Dublin City Council. The Award aims to promote excellence in world literature. Designated a UNESCO City of Literature in 2010, Dublin’s literary heritage is a significant driver of cultural tourism for the City.

Full list of British novels on the 2017 Longlist:

A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume
Sweet Caress by William Boyd
The Mirror World of Melody Black by Gavin Extence
Where My Heart Used to Beat by Sebastian Faulks
Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller
A Place Called Winter by PatrickGale
The Silent Room by Mari Hannah
Dictator by Robert Harris
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
Man on Fire by Stephen Kelman
The Offering by Grace McCleen
Slade House by David Mitchell
Signs for Lost Children by Sarah Moss
The Illuminations by Andrew O’Hagan
The Lost Child Caryl Phillips
The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley
Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie
The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota
The Kindness by Polly Samson
The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson
Weathering by Lucy Wood