22 English & Scottish novels on the 2018 longlist!

@dublinlitaward #DUBLITAWARD

19 English & 3 Scottish novels are among 150 titles that have been nominated by libraries worldwide for the €100,000 International DUBLIN Literary Award, the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English. Nominations include 48 novels in translation with works by authors from 40 countries in Africa, Europe, Asia, the USA & Canada, South America and Australia & New Zealand.

Organised by Dublin City Council, the 2018 Award was launched today [6th November] by Lord Mayor/Ardmhéara Mícheál MacDonncha, Patron of the Award, who commended the Award for its promotion of excellence in world literature as well as for the opportunity to promote Irish writing internationally. Dublin – a UNESCO City of Literature – is renowned throughout the world as a City of writers. There’s no doubt that our rich literary and cultural life makes Dublin a great destination for tourists, for students, and for overseas businesses. It also makes for a better quality of life for all of us who live and work in our capital. “Is cathair litríochta í Baile Átha Cliath” he said.

There have been four English winners of the award to date. Andrew Miller was awarded the prize in 1999 for his novel Ingenious Pain, Nicola Barker in 2000 for Wide Open, Jon McGregor in 2012 for Even the Dogs and Jim Crace in 2015 for Harvest. Both Scottish and English authors have also featured on the shortlists over the years.

Libraries in Liverpool, London, Newcastle, Norwich and Nottingham were among the libraries in 37 countries worldwide who nominated books for the 2018 award.

The English titles include:

The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain
The Dark Flood Rises by Margaret Drabble
Swing Time by Zadie Smith
The Noise of Time by Julian Barnes
Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift

The Scottish novels are:

Dear Charlie –   N.D. Gomes
Dirt Road –  James Kelman
The Other Side of Silence –  Philip Kerr

The 2018 Judging Panel comprises Xiaolu Guo, Chinese British novelist, essayist and filmaker; Nicky Harman, translator and co-Chair of the Translators Association; Courttia Newland, novelist and associate lecturer in creative writing at the University of Westminster; Mpalive Msiska, author and Reader in English and Humanities at Birkbeck, University of London and Vona Groarke, Irish poet and Senior Lecturer at the University of Manchester. The non-voting Chairperson is US Judge, Eugene R. Sullivan.The International DUBLIN Literary Award is managed by Dublin City Council’s library service. Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, announced that the 150 books eligible for the 2018 award were nominated by libraries in 111 cities and 37 countries worldwide; noting that 48 are titles in translation, spanning 18 languages and 25 are first novels.

Speaking of the global interest in the Award, the City Librarian remarked “This great prize affirms Dublin’s commitment to international writers and translators, to literature and creativity. Through this award Dublin, a UNESCO City of Literature, brings the worldwide community of readers together to read the works of contemporary writers, writers who take their inspiration from themes local and universal, in settings real and imagined.”

Other novels nominated for the 2018 Award include Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien, winner of the 2016 Governor General’s Award for Fiction, The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire, finalist for the 2017 Miles Franklin Award.

Among the 48 translated books are novels originally published in Croatian, Czech, Finnish, Hebrew, Icelandic, Korean, Norwegian, Serbian and Slovene. Translated authors include Han Kang, Roy Jacobsen, Herman Koch, Robert Seethaler, Amos Oz and previous winners Javier Marías and Juan Gabriel Vásquez. For the first year, translated titles comprise almost exactly one third of the longlist – 32%!

The book that received most nominations this year is Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad, chosen by 15 libraries in Belgium, Estonia, Greece, Sweden and the USA.The full list of English titles are:

The Power –  Naomi Alderman
The Noise of Time –  Julian Barnes
The Museum of You –  Carys Bray
The Muse –  Jessie Burton
Transit –  Rachel Cusk
The Dark Flood Rises –  Margaret Drabble
After the Lie –  Kerry Fisher
The Allegations –  Mark Lawson
Shtum  – Jem Lester
Nutshell   – IanMcEwan
The North Water –  Ian McGuire
Five Rivers Met on a Wooded Plain –  Barney Norris
Anatomy of a Soldier –   Harry Parker
The Essex Serpent –  Sarah Perry
Freya –  Anthony Quinn
Swing Time –   Zadie Smith
Mothering Sunday –   Graham Swift
All That Man Is –   David Szalay
The Gustav Sonata –   Rose Tremain

All of the novels nominated for the Award are available for readers to borrow from Dublin’s public libraries. The full list of 150 titles is available on www.dublinliteraryaward.ieThe shortlist will be published in April 2018 and the Lord Mayor will announce the winner on 13th June 2018.

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is a Dublin City Council initiative.
For further information: Dublin City Council Media Relations, 01 222 2106