News 2024 Dublin Literary Award Judges Announced

Judges 16x9

We’re delighted to announce the Judging panel for the 2024 Dublin Literary Award.

An international panel of judges will select the shortlist and winner of next year’s award. The panel includes Daniel Medin, Ingunn Snædal, Anton Hur, Lucy Collins and Irenosen Okojie.

The non-voting Chairperson is Professor Chris Morash, Seamus Heaney Professor of Irish Writing at Trinity College Dublin.  Commenting on the uniqueness of the Award Prof. Chris Morash states, “The Dublin Literary Award is the only major literary award where the Longlist is chosen not by publishers and critics, but by ordinary readers in libraries around the world.  The Longlist itself is a kind of ever-changing map of world libraries”.

The longlist will be announced in mid-January 2024.

Chris Morash is the Seamus Heaney Professor of Irish Writing in Trinity College Dublin, where he served as Vice-Provost of the university from 2016-19.   His most recent book, Dublin: A Writer’s City was published in 2023.   Among his other books are Yeats on Theatre (2021),  A History of Irish Theatre 1601-2000 (2002),  A History of the Media in Ireland (2009) and he is co-editor of the Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish Theatre (2016).  He is currently editing the Cambridge History of the Irish Novel and writing a new book about Irish literary salons.  He was the 2022 Macgeorge Fellow at the University of Melbourne, and curated the Unseen Plays series for the Abbey Theatre (2021);  from 2009 to 2014, he served as the first chair of the Compliance Committee of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland.  He was elected to Membership of the Royal Irish Academy in 2007, and to Fellowship of Trinity in 2016.

Lucy Collins is an Associate Professor at University College Dublin, where she teaches modern and contemporary literature. Educated at Trinity College Dublin and at Harvard University, where she spent a year as a Fulbright Scholar, she has published essays and books on modern poetry from Ireland, Britain and America. She is editor of the Irish University Review and co-founder of the Irish Poetry Reading Archive, a national digital repository.

Daniel Medin is professor of comparative literature at the American University of Paris, where he teaches courses on East Central European literature and culture; the work and global reception of Franz Kafka; contemporary international fiction; touchstones of world literature; and autobiographical writing. He is a director of the Center for Writers and Translators and one of the editors of its Cahiers Series. He has judged numerous prizes for translated fiction, among them the Booker International (UK), the HKW Internationaler Literaturpreis (Germany), and the Prix Fragonard de littérature étrangère (France).

Ingunn Snædal  is a poet, translator, literary editor and teacher. She has translated over 100 novels and children’s books from Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, English and Icelandic, and received several nominations and accolades for her translations. Ingunn has also translated plays and poetry, edited novels and done various text work for art museums, theatres and travel guides for many years. She has published six well-received books of poetry, for which she’s won awards and nominations, and her poetry has been translated into English, German, Norwegian and Turkish, for example. She lives in Reykjavík, Iceland.

Anton Hur is the author of Toward Eternity (HarperVia) and No One Told Me Not To (Across Books). He was born in Stockholm and currently resides in Seoul. He studied law and psychology at Korea University and specialized in Victorian poetry at the Seoul National University Graduate School English program under Dr. Nancy Jiwon Cho. He won a PEN Translates grant for his translation of The Underground Village by Kang Kyeong-ae and a PEN/Heim grant for Bora Chung’s Cursed Bunny, the latter of which was shortlisted for the 2022 International Booker Prize. His translation of Sang Young Park’s Love in the Big City was longlisted for the same prize in the same year. His translation of Violets was longlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Awards. His other translations include Kyung-Sook Shin’s The Court Dancer and I Went to See My Father, Djuna’s Counterweight, and Baek Sehee’s I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki. He has taught at the British Centre for Literary Translation, the Ewha University Graduate School of Translation and Interpretation, and the Bread Loaf Translators Conference. Anton is represented by Safae El-Ouahabi and Jon Wood at Rogers Coleridge & White in London.

Irenosen Okojie is a Nigerian British author whose work pushes the boundaries of form, language, and ideas. Her novel Butterfly Fish, and short story collections, Speak Gigantular and Nudibranch, have won and been nominated for multiple awards. Her journalism has been featured in The New York Times, The Observer, The Guardian and The Huffington Post. She is a Contributing Editor for The White Review.  She co-presented the BBC’s Turn Up For The Books podcast alongside Simon Savidge and Bastille frontman, Dan Smith. Her work has been optioned for the screen. She has also judged various literary prizes including the Dylan Thomas Prize, The Gordon Burn Prize as well as the BBC National Short Story Award. She was a judge for the 2023 Women’s Prize For Fiction. Vice Chair of the Royal Society of Literature, she was awarded an MBE For Services to Literature in 2021.


News December 7 2022

2023 Dublin Literary Award Judges Announced

Welcome the judging panel for the 2023 Dublin Literary Award
News January 31 2022

2022 DUBLIN Literary Award Longlist Announced

Meet the books nominated for the 2022 DUBLIN Literary Award


Stay in touch and sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest news and updates on the Dublin Literary Award.