From the home of literature, the DUBLIN Literary Award is proudly sponsored by Dublin City Council & administered by Dublin City Libraries


Frequently Asked Questions

The DUBLIN Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English. The Award promotes excellence in world literature and is  solely sponsored by Dublin City Council, and administered by Dublin City Libraries. Nominations are submitted by libraries in major cities throughout the world. The award is entering its 27th year. The Lord Mayor of Dublin is Patron of the Award.

The prize is €100,000 which is awarded to the author if the book is written in English. If the winning book is in English translation, the author receives €75,000 and the translator, €25,000. The winner also receives a trophy provided by Dublin City Council.

The nomination process for the Award is unique as nominations are made by libraries in capital and major cities throughout the world. Participating libraries can nominate up to one novel each year.  Dublin City Libraries actively seek out and encourage nominations from countries who have not previously nominated books for the award. Libraries interested in participating should contact the organisers for details by emailing

Invitations to nominate were emailed directly to all invited libraries in early July 2021. The closing date for returning nomination forms for the 2022 award was the 27th August 2021.

In summary form, in order to be eligible for consideration for the 2022 Award a novel must have been: first published in English between 1st July 2020 and 30th June 2021, both dates inclusive, or first published in a language other than English between 1st July 2011 and 30th June 2021 AND first published in English translation between 1st July 2020 and 30th June 2021 (all dates inclusive).

You can view the complete 2022 Rules and Conditions in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French and Chinese by clicking on the relevant language.

Dublin City Libraries manages the entire process of nominations which involves public libraries worldwide in a unique international library cooperative effort. It also liaises with publishers of nominated works who provide copies for the judging process as a requirement of eligibility.

The longlist, which will be announced in January/February 2022, is the full list of all eligible nominated novels submitted by the participating libraries.

Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.

Both the shortlist and the eventual winner are selected by an international panel of judges which changes each year. The 2022 Judging Panel will be announced in December 2021. You can read about our 2021 Judging Panel here.

The complete list of judges from 1996 to date is available here

Yes. The shortlist, up to a maximum of ten titles, chosen by the judges and will be announced in March 2022.

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was established by Dublin City, Civic Charter in 1994. (The award was renamed the International DUBLIN Literary Award in November 2015). It arose from an initiative of Dublin Corporation, the Municipal Government of Dublin City on the instigation of the then Lord Mayor, Alderman Gay Mitchell who commissioned an expert group to consider and report on the feasibility of organising a Dublin Literary Award. The expert group comprised of Chair, Mr. Sean Donlon (of the Irish Department of Foreign Affairs and GPA), Deirdre Ellis-King, Dublin City Librarian, Professor Augustine Martin of University College Dublin, Senator David Norris, Trinity College Dublin and Colm O’Briain, formerly Director of the Irish Arts Council. Their Report was adopted by the City Council and incorporated into the Report of the Lord Mayor’s Commission on Economic Development in Dublin.

The Award is now entirely a Dublin City initiative, sponsored by the City Council. The original private sector sponsoring partner was the company, IMPAC, and its founder, the late James B. Irwin Snr. Mr Irwin and IMPAC supported the Award for many years through a Trust set up to fund the prize money. This Trust Fund was exhausted at the end of 2014 Award and was wound up. Dublin City Council is grateful to the late James B Irwin Snr. and IMPAC for their support over the years.

The award is organised by an organising committee. The current members of the committee are  Mairead Owens, Dublin City Librarian and Chair (ex-officio);  Brendan Teeling, Deputy Dublin City Librarian; Michael Ryan, Dublin City Media Relations Officer (ex-officio); Alison Lyons, Director Dublin UNESCO City of Literature and Úna Smyth, Award Administrator.

Dublin City Libraries hold a collection of all eligible nominated titles for the award since its inception in 1996. These books are available for reference in the Dublin City Library & Archive, 138 – 144 Pearse Street, Dublin 2. Details of each award, the titles, the libraries participating and the judges are available on the website, Award Archive.

Start typing to see products you are looking for.
Scroll To Top